Save Money on Laundry Detergent

washing soda felsnaptha borax-box-590

 Making your own detergent is so simple and well worth the savings.

   146

I have been making laundry detergent for our family for over a year.  We have found that we save a lot of money this way. There are plenty of recipes to be found for both powder and liquid detergents. Most recipes call for the same basic ingredients: Washing Soda, Borax, and bar soap.  I have been able to purchase these ingredients from my local Wal-Mart or grocery store.  I spend about $7.00 on these 3 items and they last me probably 5 or more times longer than bottle of liquid detergent that I used to use.

You could choose to make liquid or powder. I have chosen to use powder because it is faster and so much easier to make than the liquid laundry detergent.

The only disadvantage I have found in using powder vs. liquid is that you need to add the detergent to hot water so that it will dissolve into the water. What I do is start my washing machine on hot until it covers the bottom with water then I add my detergent to the hot water and take a wash cloth or sock or something and swish it around to help dissolve the detergent mixture.  Then I switch the water to cold and add my clothes.

So how easy is it? 

  1.  Simply pour/mix together 1 cup washing soda and 1 cup borax.
  2. Grate in 1/4 bar soap and stir it up.  Done!

118

This makes 32 loads of laundry.  You only need to use 1 heaping Tbsp per load.

Can you use homemade detergent in the front loader machines?  I would think so considering there is almost no suds when using this mixture.

Have you or anyone you know used homemade detergent in a front loader?

    

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Michelle Edlund

     /  February 19, 2013

    How do you make the liquid?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

